The Kitchen!

I’ve been putting off posting the results of my kitchen renovation because I was waiting for a time when the kitchen was clean to take some pictures. But this is the thing:

That shit is never clean.

The other day, as I made some butter chickpeas, it was clean-ish. So here you go.

In this post, you can see what it looked like before we started.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The cabinets are Ikea Grimslov. Easy to clean, durable, smart use of space, soft close drawers. Totally happy.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The back-splash tile is from modwalls.com. I knew I wanted this tile. Or something very similar. Neither Lowe’s nor Home Depot carried anything even close.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The functional and not-so-functional things I keep on my counter.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Light fixtures are from Barnlight Electric. They are a little funky, and I dig them. The only thing I would change is that the big one that serves as the overhead light is a little too big, and a little too low for our space. I hate overhead lighting anyway, so it was hard to choose an overhead light. If I did it again, I’d get something a little smaller, and without a shade like that, so that it casts light upwards as well. Like something flush mount I guess.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The countertops are poured concrete. I was really, really into the idea of poured concrete countertops from the beginning, but I had a hard time finding someone who would do them for a residential space. In my day dreams, I would have loved to try to do them myself, but I was too pregnant and anxious to risk any complication that would delay the completion of our kitchen even further. So I just asked our contractor to do them for us. He had done them for his own home, but never for a client.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Eddie leaves his mark.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I enjoy an eclectic collection of spoon rests.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Our weird carrot growing experiment.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The tile is this tile from Lowe’s. So far its great. Attractive and not too slippery when wet.

Edited to add some descriptions to the photos… which I meant to do originally, but, you know… didn’t.

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “The Kitchen!

    1. Hey! Thank you so much! The blue tile is one of my favorite parts. They had nothing I really liked at the local hardware stores, so we ordered from modwalls.com! Hmm maybe I should update to add where we got stuff. 😉

Leave a Reply

