Thought for the Day.

This TED Talk was admittedly more meaningful to me than I expected, just reading the excerpt. Not that I expected it to be bad. I’ve honestly never heard a bad one, but the concept, which is that thinking about stress differently can change your body’s physical reaction to it, seemed a little common-sense to me. It seemed that I had heard about similar studies before.

Chasing meaning is better for your health than avoiding discomfort.

~Kelly McGonigal

But I found her words lingering in my thoughts for days after I listened to it. And this quote particularly, which McGonigal states right at the very end, in response to a question, stood out in my mind. It seemed particularly relevant to someone who has dealt with some pretty significant avoidance issues in the past.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Save

Leave a Reply

