Blueberry Rhubarb Crisp.

Way back when. I received a big ass bunch of rhubarb in my first CSA box of the summer. Rhubarb is often one of the earliest crops to harvest. I don’t think of it as a vegetable that many people buy at the store. And some times I think of it more as a weed. And I don’t know of a ton of ways to use it. As a kid, we had a rhubarb bush in our back yard, and some years my mom would make pies with it. And that is pretty much what I associate it with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We’ve been super busy this year, so I immediately chopped the rhubarb up, and made this crumble as soon as I had time, knowing very well that it would totally rot in my fridge if I didn’t act fast. I barely have time to get dinner on the table, forget dessert!

This is a vegan version of a classic rhubarb dessert. I intentionally didn’t put much sugar in it, so it’s not overly sweet. If you prefer a sweeter crisp, go ahead and add a little more sugar. Enjoy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Blueberry Rhubarb Crisp (Vegan)

12 oz blueberries, frozen or fresh. I used frozen.

12 oz rhubarb, raw

1 cup whole almonds

1 cup, rolled oats, divided

2 tbsp Earth Balance, or other buttery spread

2 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp whole wheat pastry flour

4 tbsp coconut sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tsp vanilla extract

 

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

For the fruit filling:

  1. Sauté the rhubarb, until soft, about 5 minutes. Pour the thawed berries and any accumulated juices into the skillet as well.

For the crisp topping:

  1. In a food processor: Process nuts, ½ of oats, Earth Balance, coconut oil
  2. Stir in the rest of the oats, flour, sugar, cinnamon, vanilla until well incorporated
  3. Sprinkle crisp topping evenly over the fruit filling. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the fruit filling is hot & bubbly and the crisp topping is golden brown.

 

And myfitnesspal has a really nifty feature that makes it super easy to figure out the nutrition info for a recipe. So I went ahead and did that. I was going for a healthier dessert. Not too bad?

Nutrition Facts
Servings 6.0
Amount Per Serving
calories 246
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 13 g 20 %
Saturated Fat 5 g 27 %
Monounsaturated Fat 4 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 2 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 0 mg 0 %
Sodium 38 mg 2 %
Potassium 358 mg 10 %
Total Carbohydrate 29 g 10 %
Dietary Fiber 5 g 20 %
Sugars 12 g
Protein 4 g 9 %
Vitamin A 0 %
Vitamin C 0 %
Calcium 0 %
Iron 1 %
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

 

 

Leave a Reply

