Vacay: Austin, Texas.

Matt and I took a vacation.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Poppies and the Colorado River.

Not a big one. Just 4 days.

photo 4-2
So flat.

It was 36 degrees when we left Pittsburgh.

photo 1-4
A rainbow over some planes.

And 82 when we landed in Austin, TX.

photo 1-5
mojito selfie.

It was kind of significant for me, because it was the first time I left Eddie for that long. Four whole nights. I was pretty nervous about it, but believe or not…

Everything was fine. Ha ha.

photo 2-2
Freedmen’s BBQ.

I vacationed the opposite way from how I usually vacation.

photo 2-3

I usually do tons of research. Find the coolest places. Like the coolest non-tourist places. And then meticulously plan when we are going where. You know, because I want to squeeze every possible once of fun out of our vacation. And see everything!

photo 2-4

But this time, I planned nothing. Well, almost nothing. I looked up a few areas/neighborhoods that were rumored to be cool. Other than that, nothing. Mostly because I was too busy beforehand to plan anything. But it worked out for us. We just wandered and strolled. When we saw a cool place, we stopped for a while. We let our Uber driver decide where we would have dinner. It was super relaxing.

Airplane booze is must for those of us with irrational anxieties around flying.
Airplane booze is must for those of us with irrational anxieties around flying.

We ate, we drank, we slept in. I napped. Every day. I took a nap every day! I am so happy that I did not succumb to the pressure to overachieve this vacation.

photo 3-2
Banana brown sugar ice cream. Not all ice cream is blog-wothy. This ice cream was exceptional.

We got to see a lot of live music.

photo 3-3
A musician dude.

We wasted time shopping for a bunch of weird trinkets.

photo 3-4
Midnight pizza.

And ate a lot of midnight pizza.

photo 4-3
Manhattan. Just as good in Austin.

I got to meet up with, and spend some time with one of my favorite people, Irene. Who lives in Houston.

photo 4-4
I dug these tree pods.

We spent a few hours aimlessly checking out some of the city parks.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Moody Theater.

We looked at the Moody Theater. Twice. This was probably the highlight of the trip for Matt.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Matt chilling at Second.

I gotta say. It was pretty glorious.

2 thoughts on “Vacay: Austin, Texas.

  1. Seeing you was the highlight of my… well, I don’t even know, but I made a really smart decision driving out there. Let me know if you need me to fill in any blanks for you. LOVE YOU TO PIECES!

    1. Ahhh! It was so wonderful to see you too! Let’s get to work on planning that girls weekend!

Leave a Reply

