Happy in the Burgh.

We’re thinking of moving, but not too far. Maybe just a little outside of Pittsburgh. Mostly because Matt’s commute to work is just ghastly. Ghastly, I tell you.

And I have been fretting a bit about the whole school system thing. We currently live in the city limits. And the schools don’t all rate very well. But I’m not really sure what that “rating” even means. Well, I know what it means, I’m just not sure how great of an indication it is of the quality of education my child will receive.

Burgh
lovely city

There are a lot of schooling options in Pittsburgh. Within the public school system there are some pretty cool charter schools and magnet schools and then there are always private schools. Which we probably won’t do.

And then there are the schools outside of Pittsburgh. The neighborhood we are most actively interested in, because of its proximity to both of our jobs, has a “great” school system. That is, the high school is rated as a 10 on a scale of 1 through 10. Which is, well, great, right?

I don’t think this particular school system that we are looking at is very, um, diverse.

The high school I graduated from, in rural PA, is also rated as a 10 on a scale of 1 through 10. And I didn’t exactly have the greatest experience there. I mean, everyone did great on standardized tests and lots of people graduated and went to college. So I guess that’s good.

I kind of feel like your own investment and interest in your child’s education can mean more and go further for your child than those ratings.

Also, who knows. You could move into a “great” school system, and in 14-ish years, when my kid goes to high school, who knows what will have changed.

Anyway, its just been making me think about what is really important to me, and my family. And what’s all available to us here in Pittsburgh and really reflecting on how happy I am that we ended up here. And how it’s a bit of a bummer that we’ll probably have to move outside of the city. Even if it’s just a little outside of the city.

Anyway. We’ll figure the school thing out.

Leave a Reply

